Thursday 30 November 2023

The Teaching Units

The University of Rajasthan consists of the following components:

  1. Constituent Colleges
  2. Post -graduate Teaching Departments
  3. Research Centers
  1. Constituent Colleges

  2. Undergraduate teaching is imparted in the 6 constituent colleges of the University, by the teaching faculty appointed in the University Post Graduate Departments:

    1. University Commerce college (Commerce Faculty)
    2. University Law College (Law Faculty)
    3. University Evening Law College (Law Faculty)
    4. University Maharani’s college (Multi-faculty College for Women)
    5. University Maharaja’s College ( Science Faculty)
    6. University Rajasthan College (Arts and Social Sciences)

    Looking to the needs and demands of students, the University started evening courses at Rajasthan College and Commerce College on self-financing basis.

    All the constituent colleges provide library and sports facilities and motivate the students to join NCC and NSS programmes. Besides these, the colleges organize seminars, workshops, lectures and discussions to strengthen academic inputs.

  3. The P.G. Teaching Departments

  4. 38 P.G. Teaching Departments are in existence in faculties of Arts, Science, Social Science, Commerce, Law, Management, Fine Arts, Education and Library Science. Admissions to the P.G. Courses offered are based on entrance tests and merit. Some of the P.G. Departments run need-based self-financing courses also. Many eminent scholars have been teachers at the P.G. Departments. The well-known personalities include : Professors Raja Chelliah, Raj Krishna, L.S. Ramaswami, C.V. Subramaniam, M.V. Mathur, P.N. Srivastava, R.K. Kaul, R.C. Mehrotra, Yogendra Singh, G. Ranganathan, Satish Chandra, Dayakrishna, Om Prakash, Iqbal Narain, G.C. Pande, B.L.Saraf, S.Loknathan, S.P.Verma, C.P.Bhambhri, V. R. Mehta, Y.K.Alagh, C.Rangarajan etc.

    Research support and Special Assistance have been made available to some departments by the UGC. A couple of departments are actively engaged in innovative research, and they are recognized for the FIST, COSIST and DST DAAD programmes of the University Grants Commission and the DST. The researches done by the faculty members have been in evidence by publications of articles in reputed journals. Some teachers have been honoured with international and national awards and citations.

    Depending upon the disciplinary advancement, needs of the students and the demands of society, syllabi have been reviewed from time to time. The process of globalization, has also prompted formulation of new courses and this may go a long way in providing jobs to the students. Some of the new courses are as follows:

    The post-graduate courses include:

    1. Biotechnology
    2. Microbiology
    3. Information Technology
    4. Journalism and Mass Communication
    5. Finance Control
    6. Management
    7. The under-graduate courses are:

    8. Computer Applications
    9. Business Administration
    10. Fine Arts
    11. Film Production and Technology
    12. Food Technology
  5. Research Centers

  6. The University also provides opportunities to the deserving students and teachers to undertake research in the fields of their specialization. For this purpose, Research Centers were established. These research centers have strengthened research, and some of them offer M. Phil Programmes of study.

    The following Centers are in existence:

    1. Centre for Development of Physics Education*
    2. Indira Gandhi Centre for Human Ecology, Environmental and Population Studies*
    3. Centre for Gandhian Studies*
    4. South Asia Studies Centre*
    5. Centre for Women Studies
    6. Social Science Research Centre
    7. Centre for Jain Studies
    8. Centre for Rajasthan Studies
    9. Centre for Adult and Continuing Education
    10. Centre for Local-Self Government
    11. Centre for Non-Conventional Energy Resources
    12. Centre for Water Resource Management

    * Status of Teaching Department